Posted by: Kai Brockbank | February 2, 2011

Reflecting Pool at the Place de la Bourse in Bordeaux

Reflecting pool at the Place de la Bourse in Bordeaux, France - Miroir d'eau à la Place de la Bourse, Bordeaux

September 2010, Panasonic Lumix DMC fz38, 4000 x 2672

        I promised a more representative view of the center of Bordeaux. Here is a view of the “Quais de la Garonne”, the quays of the main river that runs through the city.

        I recently learnt that this reflecting pool is the largest in the world, although I don’t know how many there are! In warm weather, the rock heats up and triggers wispy fountains of water to spray out of every paving slab, much to the delight of passers-by wanting to cool off! I’ll post some more shots in which you can see this happening.

        On the left is the XVIIIth century “Place de la Bourse”, one of the key places in Bordeaux.

        As usual, any opinion is welcome and highly valued ;)!

Responses

  1. That is a beautiful shot of it! It would be so much fun to run though that… If I ever make it there, I’ll be sure to try it! Welcome back!

    • Thanks Kuukisu! I’m so glad you like it! I would definitely recommend make a detour here if you ever get the oportunity! It is pretty fun, especially when the sprays are in action!
      Thanks for commenting!

  2. I agree with Kuukisu, what fun it would be just to run around in it. I love all of your pictures. One of my favorites is the one that you use at top of your blog.

    Bob

    • One of the things that I really liked about this place was precisely that it was so interactive. When the sprays get working, it’s even more impressive: Absolutely everybody of all ages just running around and having fun!
      I’m so glad you appreciate my photos! The one you speak of is a shot I took a couple of years ago with my old compact camera. I’ve tried lots of other photos for my header, but none seemed to work as well, so it looks like this one’ll be staying!
      Thanks a lot for comlmenting, Bob! I really appreciate it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

